Need Advice: Mixer vs. Soundcard

• Right now all I have by way of connecting my gear to my computer for recording is an old M-Audio Delta 2496 PCI card with one pair of RCA ins. I am getting a little tired of unplugging and re-plugging various cables to switch devices when I use Ableton or Audacity. Here is what I presently have to connect to a WinXP tower:

1 Epiphone electric guitar
    1 Washburn electric bass
    1 DSI Mopho
    2 Samson cardoid mics
    1 Kaoss Pad
    1 Kaossilator
    1 turntable
    1 MiniDisc recorder
    1 tape deck

(I don't have amps for the guitars; they are plugged directly into the soundcard via an adapter.)

From what I have read I don't know if I need a better external soundcard with multiple ins, or if I would be better off with a small mixer that outputs to the soundcard I already have--or just a patch bay? Not looking for pro gear; I'm just a hobbyist. Any advice or equipment suggestions would be welcome.

• well, a patch bay would just move your cable-switching from the back of your comp to somewhere more accessible. A mixer would probably be your best bet, providing you don't need to record more than 2 mono signals or one stereo signal at a time. You can sum multiple sources together, of course, but it all goes into a max of 2 inputs.

• @flplsx: I was leaning toward a mixer since I rarely need to record more than one instrument at a time (so far). I'm just not all that familiar with the purpose of a mixer vs. an external audio device in general. When I see photos of other people's set-ups there seems to be a mixer in there somewhere, so I figured it might be a good idea at some point.