[SOLVED!] Help with getting serialosc to recognise Arduinome [button presses now solved]

• Hi all,

I'm just starting out on the Arduinome experience, and I'm running into a few problems, specifically at the "getting my computer to talk to it" stage. If any of you have any suggestions, they'd be much appreciated. I've read through a whole bunch of threads on this forum already, but nothing I've read so far seems to quite match where I'm at.

The Arduinome:
    I'm using the basic sparkfun breakout boards and button pads, with an Arduino Mega 2560 r2 and a stripboarded shield. It appears to all be wired up correctly - I can get the LEDs to behave exactly as expected using the LedControl library in Arduino.

Computer setup:
    - I'm on a Mac running 10.6.8.
    - Arduino 1.0 is working fine, and I've used it to install ArduinoFirmware v3.3 on the Mega.
    - I've successfully installed serialosc (after an initial fight with the permissions, as others on the board have also found) - I can now see it running happily enough in Activity Monitor.
    - Max6 runtime appears to be working fine, and I've made sure those zeroconf files have been put in the max-externals folder.

The problem:
    I think I've managed to change the serial number okay following the steps on FlipMu at http://flipmu.noisepages.com/work/chronome/changing-the-serial-number/ , but there are curious inconsistencies between how things show up in different software (which may or not be part of the problem):
    - At the "changing the Descriptors.c file" part I substituted in "a40h-456".
    - In the System Profiler it shows up as "a40h-456" as expected.
    - In Arduino's Tools->Serial Port menu it appears as "/dev/tty.usbmodema40h-451".
    - In ArduinomeSerial it appears in the device menu as "0h-451". (with serialosc switched off, as I'm told these two conflict).