Virtual MIDI Output Query?

• I've downloaded the application flin, connected my monome and got it working straight away, but I've noticed I have a bog standard piano sound named "AU DLS Synth 1" in the virtual midi output list. Is there a way I can select a stand alone softsynth or send MIDI out to an external device? I've noticed you can select Max but I'm completely new to it, and I havnt activated yet as its a demo.

Many thanks!

• If you are on Windows, you need a 'virtual midi cable' to route the signal out to something other than the default Windows synth.

LoopBE (just search that on Google) has a free version that allows for one virtual cable (out from one app and into another). You can buy a version that allows for more in/out pairs.

Once you install it, set flin MIDI out to LoopBE Out and in your chosen app set the MIDI in to LoopBE In. I use this kind of set up in Reason and it works beautifully...

• Ah right that does sound straight forward but sadly which i forgot to mention Im using a mac.

• On Mac, "IAC Bus" are your search keywords.

But, here:
    http://monome.org/articles/2011/09/08/monome-midi-routing-fundamentals/

• Macs have a built in MIDi router. Go to your Utilities folder and open Audio MIDI Setup. Select the MIDI window from the view menu. Here you can configure your MIDI routing.

• Cheers guys i will try and sort it out tomorrow when Im back on my computer :-)

• Wow! That's amazing!

Got it working no problems with my Cs80 v2 soft synth :-)

Is there a reason the guy on the video creates a new bus, as in IAC Bus 2 or doesn't it matter. Also, will this be saved, as in when I shut everything down will I be able to load flin, select IAC Bus 2 and away I go?

Also, if I use more than 8 layers in flin it goes a bit crazy, is this because I only have the grayscale 64?