M4L vs. Max/MSP

• Trying to decide between getting M4L or buying full MaxMSP.

Can someone tell me if there are any major advantages to buying Max vs M4L..especially with regard to patching and having acces to tutorials etc...I'm a noob wanting to learn.

I'm leaning toward full Max, but ...

Any opinions?

• depending if you are going to use ableton or all the other monome apps.

• Also, consider if you already own Ableton, their latest (but yet to be released) Ableton 9 Suite will include Max 4 Live, so if you have a standard 8 licence (or lite) and want to upgrade, check out your upgrade options. At the moment they have a good discount on upgrading to suite (8) with a free ug to Suite 9 when it is released early next year.

• I type too slowly. Much of this, people have already said.

-------

If you're using Ableton, Suite 9 will come with Max For Live. Don't buy m4l before that launches; just upgrade to Suite 8 now and take advantage of the free upgrade to 9.

If you're debating between full MaxMSP and Ableton Suite, that's an easier decision. If you consider yourself primarily an Ableton user, get the Suite -- there's a lot of benefit beyond just m4l. But if Live is just the DAW you happen to be using right now, get the full MaxMSP and stay portable.

--------

I have both. No real difference in terms of tutorials. And you can save .maxpat files from within m4l that will open in the free Live Runtime. Which begs the question: why would you want to?

Simply put, Max For Live has limited access to your MIDI stream. It gets the sloppy second leftovers after Live has filtered out everything it doesn't want. Which may be stuff you were hoping to use, but it's gone now.