very pessimistic aleph question

• Sorry to be so negative, but i'm wondering if when i get my aleph, will it be able to do much at all?
    I keep reading all the reports of bugs, corrupted sd cards, etc.
    I'm not a programmer at all. I'm thinking i've gotten in way over my head with a device that is still in alpha stage.

Realistically, will i be able to do much if anything with my aleph when it arrives, or will it be some time down the road before it's a usable device?

No flames please, this is just an honest inquiry wondering how viable of a tool this is for a dumb guy? And i'm happy to wait until it works, i do hope to learn Bees and possibly even navigate github. This all seems not very user friendly to me at this point though.

thanks!

• understandable sentiment

i also consider myself dumb (with regard to computer tech) and have absolutely no background in programming

tehn + the monome gang will likely have something to say but i'll give my honest opinion on a few issues you've brought up

1. "when i get my aleph, will it be able to do much at all?" simple answer: yes. the factory settings provide a really entertaining synth that works with grid devices. i guess it really depends what you intend on "doing". if you want go beyond the default module & scene to create new networks OR download scenes from other users...at this stage, you might not actually be able to "do much"

2. "how viable of a tool this is for a dumb guy?" its been a bit frustrating while we all figure this thing out, and to observers and users alike there's, perhaps, a haze of uncertainty surrounding aleph.