modular...

• I'm really new to this.When I see all those modules,it looks like a jungle to me.
    So,what could be the first basic/funny modular synth?

• What is your budget and do you plan to get a white whale?

• I was more thinking in terms of module types.
    What is the base to get interesting sounds ?

• It's question I wondered myself when I was first getting interested in modulars. The problem with that specific question is, Its sort of similar to asking "What kind of Legos let me build interesting things?"

There are just so many options and without knowing a little bit more about what floats your boat it's a bit tough. I would suggest paying a visit to muffwiggler.com. It's pretty much the "happening place" for everything modular synths these days.

A few resources to get you started..

http://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=44345

• It's the more expensive way to start but I'd recommend getting with a complex oscillator first

• basic, VCO, VCA, VCF and an ADSR
    funny, that guy that makes the banana synths out of wood.

• the big question is what do you want to do with your modular?

i for one have been most interested in using my modular to process audio from guitar, tapes and other external sources. i do have several oscillators and traditional synth stuff but for me that is a little less intuitive since i come from the world of guitar pedals and tape recorders.

that being said, if you want to start out with building a synth voice you'll need to get quite a few things to get started... (really roughly)

the thing you need first is some kind of case with power. a good low cost starter is a TipTop audio Happy Ending Kit. 3u/84hp rack-mountable (or table top-able) case with a solid power supply.