starting a eurorack setup with a white whale

• @naburo asked a good question on the white whale thread which I thought could use a separate thread:

>What do you think, as a Eurorack beginner, I thought, I could start with a Doepfer Dark Energy II, a White Whale and my monome. And if I like it, I could expand to other modules.
    > Are there any reasons against this procedure?

The white whale also has me tempted to get into modular. What other min spec ways are there to start? Is a case/rack obligatory? I'm slightly more interested in sound manipulation than synthesis...

• Why don't you to start with something that can utilise the triggers then? Such as a make noise phonogene, optomix and maths? It wouldn't all have to be the same manufacturer they they pack a lot of functionality into a 20hp panel..

• Anyone wanting to start with "real" modular gear and who like the Dark Energy could do worse than buying a powersupply and an A-111-5 module, which is essentially the DE1 only rackmountable. The A-111-5, a white whale and a couple of more fun less useful modules could be an excellent way of starting.

• i would like 2 things in order to really help people. an idea of what they hope to accomplish and a budget. the best thing to do is post modular vids you like and a money figure!

• I have a large and ever-expanding euro system, and have to recommend that if you're going to spend serious money on modules, to then get a suitable power supply. I use Monorocket cases designed to handle Metasonix (vacuum tube) modules.

I recommend a Make Noise system to get started, but that isn't the most affordable option out there.

• I´d like to build a modular drum machine with the monome as a control center
    My budget depends, lets say 800.- for a start

• i would really not advice this, this is really expensive to do something that regular drum machines do better.
    My opinion.