Purchasing advice!

• Hi there all, I'm Chris Lashley and I'm a student loving the magic behind midi controllers such as the arch and Grid.
    I don't need a large grid. I'd love to get a 64 walnut grid and a duo arch, but from what I can see there are no arches to be found. I'm willing to pay the proper price for these used, but I'd really just like to get a good deal on new stuff. I just found out that I have a great teacher willing to help me with programming and exploring Max live and ableton. Please help, any advice is useful advice.

• New equipment is only available from monome.org

Arc 2's are $500
    64's are $500

They are released rarely and usually sell out pretty quickly. I don't think there are any available now. Sales don't happen.

I would advise buying used, as there are people that come and post on this forum that are trying to sell. These devices don't really break unless they're mistreated, so there's not much downside to buying used. I would think that anything $400 or lower for either item is a good deal.

• Also, there are different editions of the Grids and Arcs that have different features, so be sure to know what you want.

• Thank you Yorke!
    So this equipment is made once demand reaches a certain point? I thought maybe they were made to order and you can just buy them. I know there are different aesthetic characteristics between newer and older arches and grids. Does anyone have a link or something to the differences between the smaller grids and the different arc 2's?

• You might be waiting a while if you absolutely have to have new. Arcs show up every now and then in this community's trade section, and various 64s are usually available.

• "New equipment is only available from monome.org"
    Not true anymore, they gave distribution to a few shops, see devices/order. BUt yes, currently all devices are out of stock.