Profiteering: what is Monome's perspective?

• I am new to Monome. I've done a lot of research about it; I appreciate the philosophical/intellectual/political underpinnings behind the Monome vision.

What I'm perplexed by is the vulnerability of the vision to predatory profiteering. It seems like a fairly conspicuous problem with this otherwise idealistic, open source vision.

Someone with a different disposition than mine might even call buying a monome "an investment" like any other. But there's something about a 250% profit says "evil."

If this is a tired topic, forgive me: I'm new here. I am certain that I'm not the first person to bring this topic up. In fact, it may be a very well-worn discussion. If so, help me out. What is the official stance on this topic? Is it just a "What can you do?" accompanied by a sigh of dismay?

It seems like the people behind Monome are bright and thoughtful people. But it seems that more thought should be put into how to discourage this kind of thing from happening.

In other words, monome shouldn't be a gated community.

Can production be increased without a sacrifice of aesthetics/ideals? It seems like a potentially emotionally charged area that has the potential to ultimately give the monome the veneer of elitism. This seems to run counter to the progressive, environmentally conscious, non-exploitative beliefs espoused by Brian and Kelli.

Would monome ever make an official statement on the topic, broadcast from the homepage, damning the practice? Or would they prefer not to intervene? I am curious.

- Chad

• It's a shame... but it's capitalism...

• well, as far as i'm concerned, people will always do whatever they see fit. if some asshole buys a monome, for the sole idea of selling it to make a profit, there's nothing anyone can do to stop him. the sad part is, he's taking away a monome from someone who really wants it and probably can't afford it via e-bay.