Offsetting specific rows, maybe with a hacked monome_router

• Hi,

first off I'm very new to Max so my understanding of what's possible and not is very limited. So I'm sorry if this is a stupid question.

Anyhow, here goes:
    I wan't to use my 128 with 256 patches, accessing 15 rows and keeping one row fixed.

Mlr_cyst have a nice offsetting functionality that gives me an additional set of eight rows. While this is great and wasn't too hard to implement in other Max apps, what if I'd like to prevent the top row from being offsetted? I want it to always stay the same.

This would also come in handy when running Molar (yes, I'm well aware that I can use different instances, but that doesn't serve my needs).

I've looked into monome_router to see if I could hack something useful. Problem is that's still way beyond my skills.

Maybe someone already has a solution?

Best regards
    Peter

• Not sure, but bump. That app hub might do something similiar to this.

http://post.monome.org/comments.php?DiscussionID=2401&page=1#Item_0

• Thanks! But no, hub doesn't do this (even though I find hub useful for many other things).

My question has forced me to try to learn Max. It's not too hard! I've started hacking monome_router and have already made some progress. If someone else is interested I'll share once completed.

• @plopp

So does mlr_cyst keep the first row top row intact when it offsets?

• No, it doesn't.

Right now I'm trying my very ugly hack of monome_router. It actually kind of works.

• @plopp

If you don't mind me asking, do you think I could try out your hack? I love ugly.

• ok, so while we're on ugly, i deleted row 8, and added "8" to a [route 1] in [p box]

theoretically it should work.

the patch is mlr_cyst_128

• erm... just realized that this won't update lights on the top row for the 2nd half.

still on ugly =)

• @soundcyst

Thanks a lot!

That's the exact same issue that I've got! Spent the whole day trying to figure out how it works, but no luck.