Love for the Penguins (monome series under Linux)

• I mentioned this back in the big 256 thread we had, but I figured I should probably post a little update, especially as people start receiving their 128s. For the past month or so, I've been setting aside a good bit of time to re-learn C and get to work on a Linux monomeserial that works with the new series of monome. It's rather complete at this point, actually, and I want to spend some time this weekend cleaning up the source and testing it a bit more thoroughly, but I'd like to at least get a beta (or alpha or whatever) out the door sometime in the next few days.

Though Max/MSP doesn't run on Linux, I can get nearly all of the ChucK apps running (chuckstep is a bit unstable on my system) and they run well. I've also been investigating other languages that aren't getting much love, namely cSound (with which I have some experience) and SuperCollider.

Will keep you all updated.

• i'm looking forward to beta/alpha testing this. thanks much.

• is it a port of monome serial, or just based on it? gui based? id love to see it, gotta get a linux setup when i build a new pc.

• it's a rewrite done in C. currently it's just console based and there are two parts: libmonome (handles the communication to and from the monome and provides a C wrapper around it) and monomeserial (OSC interface to the C API). I want to make libmonome a shared library at some point (might not be in the initial release), and a GUI version is on the horizon as well. if a name change for monomeserial would be a good idea to avoid confusion, just let me know.

currently it only supports the 256/128/64, though I presume 40h support would be easy enough to add, I don't actually have one to test with.

• > Though Max/MSP doesn't run on Linux,

YET...

• >> Though Max/MSP doesn't run on Linux,

> YET...

You have Pd.