Trying to setup an encoder, please help

• Hi I have recently finished building a monome from the kit, it works great and I love it. I want to add an encoder for my own patches in Max/Msp. I have purchased the us digital S4 256 and the jtag programmer from olimex and have soldered the encoder on. Where I get royally confused is with the installing of Dev tools and Avarice and all of that. I am not a programmer and have never used the terminal app in OSX. I am on an ibook with OSX 10.4.8. I was wondering if someone could shed some light on this subject for me. Is there a simpler way to do this without having to necessarily understand it?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

• http://www.digithink.com/OSX-AVR/Introduction/Main?from=Main.Main

good starting point. let me know where you get stuck.

after it's all installed, you should be able to go to the folder where the 40h_enc source files are located and type "make pro" and everything will program

you might need to change the makefile so that it knows where your programmer is... type:

ls -lrt /dev

and look for a usb**** device similar to that listed in the makefile

• man, im a programmer, and i still get scared of makefiles!

egon, you'll get it, you jus have to be persistant. setting these type of things up is never easy, but always rewarding when its done.

• Hi, Sorry for the late reply. Thanks so much for your quick reply. I have been perusing this forum for awhile and I do notice the speed with which things are solved around here.

So here is my problem: As I said I have no experience with programming so some of the most base stuff is foreign to me. Where I get stuck in the tutorials and documentation for installing Devtools and Uploading firmware is that they all say to go to a directory and then type something. I don't know where to type these things. If it's in Terminal, how do I specify which directory will feel the effects of this code?