Ableton Live Version 5 or Live Intro OK for Pages?

• I'm just getting started using many of these apps....so bear with me...

I'd like to use Pages for switching apps on a single 40h.(like between MLR, PressCafe, etc...).

I'm trying to do this with Pages synced to Ableton Live Version 5. I know, I know...version 5.. I need to upgrade already, but don't have a spare $500 right now, so here I am.

My question is..will Live 5 work to sync with Pages for controlling external applications? As far as I can tell from Pages documentation, Live only really needs to act as a MIDI clock for any of the other apps running on Pages.

Am I right about this?

Also, I've been thinking about purchasing Live 8 Intro. only $99 Does Live Intro. have any inherent limitations when it comes to using it with the Monome??

Thanks.

• hi rah,

actually a common misconception is that pages requires ableton. it really doesn't, it can work with anything for midi clock source. the only thing you're going to need ableton 7 or 8 for is if you want to do clip launching or use any of the ableton-specific pages. i have not tested 5 for this, nor have i tested live 8 intro, but i would guess that live 8 intro will work (live 5 probably will not). the only requirement for ableton to work with pages is to be able to load and enable 'control surface' scripts. i would be surprised if live 8 intro had the control surface functionality disabled, but you might want to double check before purchasing.

anyway, bottom line, you can use any midi clock source to drive pages--ableton, logic, garage band probably, cubase, some external piece of gear, etc.

edit: if you want to just check out the pages+ableton functionality you can always grab the free live 8 demo. it works with clip launcher/etc.

edit 2: if you do manage to get live 8 intro working let us know!

• Thanks phortran..
    I will let you know what I find out.

• OK..