Newbie - with newbie questions...

• Hi there,

I'm new to all things monome and already I'm hooked. I currently run things on an Akai MPC1000 which is much better than previously with the JJ OS and the suggestion of a pad fix to the unit. Anyway, what attracts me to the monome is the flexibility of the approach to software and the apps, something missing in most other tools.

Before I invest in one of the new monomes, I've got a few questions (probably very familiar to the experienced members here);

1. Laptop compatibility: Are there any checks I can do on my laptop to ensure it will work when acquired? I guess I can't install the ftdi driver until I can plug the hardware in, and I'm guessing I can't run anything else either, until the monome is plugged in and recognised by the driver!

2. Coding Requirement: Despite having a programming background (and career) I don't really want to delve too deeply into coding to produce any sounds with the monome.

3. Cost: As always it's an issue! I'd like to check if it's possible to run the monome using the max/msp apps and not have to purchase something like Reaktor or Ableton. Apart from the momome and a pc/laptop to connect to is there anything else I should purchase?

Sorry for the questions, but I've looked through the site and I'm not sure of the answers yet.

Hopefully I'll place an order for one of the lovely 256's soon!

Cheerio

DJ Hombre

• 1. no worries, the FTDI driver is used in a LOT of common commercial devices, I talked to those guys at a trade show a few months back, LOTS of huge electronics companies use their chips.

2, 3. Chuck is free and reads like a common high level programming language. you can study a Chuck patch and start coding in no time. Pd is also free. max/msp is maybe the most obvious one to write code with and the monomes are a GREAT companion to learning max/msp. you don't need to buy or program anything to use the monome apps already available.