arc

• @tehn:
    Just curious, why is the gs series expensive to tool?

(kinda off topic mybad)

• @GreaterThanZero:

Thanks, that was helpful. I'm just learning the differences between encoders (increments, right?) and regular knobs with fixed values. I'd just assumed the standard knob, if it spins endlessly, was of the encoder variety. I hadn't actually checked to see how the nanoKontrol is setup in that regard.

Hopefully the arc will be good for driving further development. I'd love to see more monome apps get support for encoders and knobs and dials and whatnot, so that more things can be done with existing simple MIDI/USB devices, even if they are less capable.

I hadn't thought of new apps or what they could do; I'm still trying to get my head around this being something besides a simple dial.

I can totally imagine taking two arc encoders and sticking them on either side of a monome. A bit of cutting, a bit of coding, and . . . presto, now you've created the "Etch-a-nome," and you can draw pretty pictures (using the LEDs). Press down on the knob to "lift off" your nifty new light pen and set it down someplace else. There's something you couldn't do with the original Etch-a-Sketch. Single-color pixel art for the win!

• the enclosure. it requires a tool, aka mold, which fits into a huge injection molding machine. that tool is expensive to machine. that's all.

with walnut the materials are more expensive, but no huge tooling cost. the CNC operates directly on the material.

• Well I guess it's a good thing that mlrv's tempo change bug was fixed :)

• physics based apps? a short, fast twist could send an LED rotating around the knob, triggering a MIDI note or something each time it passes 12 o'clock. Switch notes via the other knob (or monome, or elsewhere) and you can get a little sequence going with polyrhythms depending on the acceleration of the twist.

The possibilities are endless (encoder)