Algorithmic Composition + An Introduction

• Hi All,

So great to finally be a part of this community. I've been lusting over the Monome since I saw Daedalus live at a rooftop after party a few years ago.

My name is Alex Brown and I'm a web developer/hobbyist musician. I picked up a 256 Monome on ebay a few weeks ago and I'm in love. It's just as useful as I imagined and about 100x more inspiring (just looking at the thing does the trick).

------------------------------------------------

Algorithmic Composition:

I wanted to make my first thread here interesting as opposed to just "Look at me I'm new!" so I thought I'd inquire as to whether anyone here is into algorithmic composition? You certainly seem like a community that would be.

I'm working on a new project (my first Album... most likely self released) titled "Music is Math" inspired almost entirely by the Monome. I'd like to dive into algorithmic composition for the project.

I'm brainstorming a program I'd like to write. It'll allow me to do the following:

1) Input any melody. (Ideally as midi so it'll have timing / velocity data as well as pitch)
    2) Calculate the probability of each unique note moving to another note (or back to itself). [ie. In the simple Melody "ABCC" A moves to B 100% of the time, B moves to C 100% of the time, C moves to C 50% of the time and to A 50% of the time]
    3) Create a Markov Chain with this data.
    4) Run chain output Pitch results.

Now you've got a somewhat 'random' (albeit based upon the initial structure) note generator. But it's got no rhythm!

You could have the same program figure out the percentage chance that the note will occur on a 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32 (etc) ... create another Markov Chain, and have them run simultaneously. This Markov chain is a timer that essentially tells the other one when to fire. Now the midi can out put with different, randomly generated Rhythms too.