Connecting A Monome to iPad: Possibility?

• i'm using a monome 128 and a macbook air 11" in a gig. it's very light already, i know, but it's always better if lighter.

so i'm wondering, is it possible to use a monome with an iPad?

if it's possible to port / convert the monome applications based on max to ios apps, then it should be possible? but i'm not an expert in this area so i don't know if there's anything that holds it impossible for now.

• Simple answer nope... no serialosc driver for iOS.

• Would it be possible to implement the driver within an iOS app?

• It's technically possible to write a driver which communicates with the monome using compatible protocols. Porting serialOSC would be the wrong way to go about it, but the hardware support built into Aleph is likely much cleaner.

However, you'd have to go through the rather expensive process of becoming an authorized hardware vendor through Apple before they'd allow any apps in their store to communicate with the monome. Which, if you're not Brian, is an action you should veer sharply away from. And if you *are* Brian, it's not a great investment for any number of reasons. I don't see that one happening.

Meanwhile, if the original app developers aren't involved in the iOS ports, selling a version of their work on the app store is highly unethical. So, there's that as well.

At this point, I'd say the Launchpad Mini is your grid for the iPad. It's not as nice as a real monome, but your iPad's not as nice as a real computer.

• thanks for the replies.

fortunately, while i'm not brain, i'm more "not a programmer" at all. so i would just throw away that idea and be fine with what i have now.

i've tried other similar devices, but they are not monome either.

the new Aleph, however, looks like a great alternative - or a great device all by itself. if it can run mlrv and grainstorm i'll certainly get one just for this purpose.