Community project: multifunctional protocol router for open hardware

• Everyone who has been following the discussion on “open source perceptions” (http://post.monome.org/comments.php?DiscussionID=2025) might have seen that there are several ideas about developing an open source protocol router that can be used in conjunction with projects made by the rapidly evolving Open Source Hardware community.

I started a wiki section where we can keep track of all information about this project: http://docs.monome.org/doku.php?id=frameworks:oscrouter

I'm pretty new to software development, I understand some of the concepts involved and I'm keen to learn more about it. First of all we should probably see if we can define a list of key features and functionalities, please add your thoughts and ideas to the list in the wiki so that we will have a good overview of what needs to be done..

What will be next? To quote jul from the previous topic:

"Starting from there, we can start to find common points and factorize protocols. We can also start to define mapping techniques from serial to OSC. Following step is to write the associated libs in various languages. Ideally we should be able to map from anything to anything: e.g. midi note to keyboard strokes, or serial to midi, or OSC to key stroke. Maybe this is not needed initially. I would propose to focus on serial to OSC and see if we can extend the system later on, if the project goes well."

Enough talk for now, let's get this project going!

• rooker and i had a very long dialogue about this about a year ago.

here are his notes:

http://www.das-werkstatt.com/forum/werkstatt/viewtopic.php?t=495

• /me hops on board.
    registered my basic skills on the wiki page

• also, thought i'd throw JSON into the mix.

http://www.json.org/

• more coming as well.

• Very interesting.. looks like I will be reading a lot today.. Is rooker still working on his thesis project?

• not sure, i just sent him mail.